Melania Trump Scolded by the Public

As mentioned in my last blog, this past Saturday, February 18th, Melania Trump led a Trump rally with the Lord’s Prayer. However instead of the public being accepting and open to her, she has been scrutinized and ridiculed.

Obama closed a speech at a religious dinner in 2010 by saying, “And we can only achieve ‘liberty and justice for all’ if we live by that one rule at the heart of every great religion, including Islam – that we do unto others as we would have them do unto melania-trumpus.” If an Islamic person prayed in public they probably would’ve been praised for their courage and cheered on by many others. Yet, when a Christian prays in public our society gets tweets from people like @JaimePrimak that read, “Melania starts the dictatorship rally with the Lord’s Prayer? NOT EVERY AMERICAN IS CHRISTIAN!!!! Country over party.” Town Hall’s Leah Barkoukis and FoxNews.com both recounted this tweet in their articles.

In my opinion, what was even worse was when people attacked her directly. Leah Barkoukis reported, “@NicoleAngeleen tweeted: ‘I could recite the Our Father backwards, drugged with a gun to my head. If you need to read this prayer, you’re not Christian (re: Melania).’” I don’t know about you but if I were making a speech in public, especially involving a prayer that thousands knew, I would be reading off a paper as well. I’ve been a Christian all my life but I’d be so nervous that I would mess up I’d want to have a backup plan. I don’t think anyone understands the pressure that Melania was under when she spoke in front of that many people.

Our country pleads for religious tolerance. It allows students out of school for religious reasons and fights for the suppressed to have their religious voices be heard. However, when a Christian steps forward it seems as if they are being suppressed. Quoting Obama, “…do unto others as we would have them do unto us,” support everyone’s freedom of religion, being tolerant of all and not just when it is convenient.

(Photo courtesy of CreativeCommon.com with open copyright)

Leave a Reply

