Immigration – The Truth About the Executive Order

On Friday, January 27, 2017, President Trump signed an Executive Order entitled: Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States. This order places a temporary hold on all immigrants traveling from 7 countries, Iran, Iraq, Yemen, Somalia, Libya, Sudan, and Syria, for 90 days. These countries were taken from the U.S. Customs and Border Protection’s Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015. The only exception will be to Syria’s refugees for which Trump has ordered an indefinite hold. During this time Trump, along with the help of the Secretary of Homeland Security, Secretary of State, and Director of National Intelligence, will put together reports on these 7 countries to further develop the visa process for immigrants. The Administration’s goal is to introduce a better program for uniform screening including in-person interviews and digitized documentation databases to more easily identify falsified documentation.


(Photo courtesy of with open copyright)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s